Getting rid of a pain in the butt in Vietnam

 

Prior to an 18 hour flight to Nha Trang Vietnam, home town of Mi Duong, I rented a bike. After adjusting the seat,  I misjudged the height of the rear wheel, caught my leg on  it and landed flat on my coccyx. OUCH!!!!!!!  Still, I went.

Me and Mi in Taipei
Me and Mi in Taipei
Mi in Taipai
Mi in Taipai

Once MiDuong and her fellow client, Gena Pratt and I reached Nha Trang, our intense touring began with 4 days of swimming in the China

5 am Swim
5 am Swim
Mi with one of her brother's friend
Mi with one of her brother’s friend
High level money exchange
High level money exchange
Artichokes at Nha Trang Market
Artichokes at Nha Trang Market

IMG_0139Sea at 5am, marching around the market and Mi’s favorite restaurants and shops.Weclimbed uneven ancient steps at Po Nagar Cham Tower and Nha Trang Cathedral.  Stairs had become the bane of my butt ache.

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/vietnam/south-central-coast/nha-trang/sights/religious/po-nagar-cham-towers

The 95 degree humid weather caused me more grief that my aching ass.

Me, Mi,Gena,Thoan, Kimmy and Ni
Me, Mi,Gena,Thoan, Kimmy and Ni

IMG_0347 IMG_0301 IMG_0299 IMG_0286I welcomed our subsequent 12 hour road trip to Hoi An with my 5 caregivers. Nurse Ratchett aka Mi Duong ,who kept me moving at a fast pace; Nurse Jackie aka Gena Pratt who plied me with Campari.; Mi’s mother Thach and sister “Auntie” Kim who nursed me with plenty of food and exotic fruit; and Ni, Mi’s sister, who orchestrated the whole trip like a precise surgeon.

At this point both Gina and I needed a break from our assimilation into Vietnamese life. We checked into the luxurious Nam Hai resort in Hoi An.

http://www.ghmhotels.com/en/nam-hai/

Nam Hai Villa
Nam Hai Villa
Afternoon Tea at Nam Hai
Afternoon Tea at Nam Hai

IMG_8436

Nam Hai Villa
Nam Hai Villa
Main Pool Nam Hai
Main Pool Nam Hai

Our private compound included a lavish main villa up six bannister-less stairs leading to a sitting room with 5 day beds, wine cellar, decanters of whiskey and our butler, Tua. He led us down a grand staircase down flanked by 2 more day beds a patio with table for afternoon tea (sing this to tune to Tea for Two), and our private pool. We crossed the extensive outdoor and went up to the lower level of our bedroom. So far we had traversed 23 stairs from our front gate and still had not reached the bathroom. Two more sets of 4 more stairs got us there. Oh my aching ass!

Then if I just wanted to fall into bed I could enter the bed platform and tightrope walk along the side of the soaking tub nearer the bathroom and avoid the higher step at bedside. When earlier drunk Saigon Beer woke me, I pillowed my pulsing posterior and sled over the black marble ledge until my feet dangled over the floor. I only had a few steps up that may or may not be lit by a motion light depending on whether the decorative mosquito netting was hanging in its beam.

We thoroughly enjoyed our one free dinner that was included in the $1000 nightly fee. My stay-at-home husband deduced that we were the only guests who were not drug dealers or movie stars. We missed Colin Farrell by a week.

In the evening we visited the delightful town of Hoi An and enjoyed the best Banh Mi in Vietnam, according to Joby Hirschfield and Anthony Bourdain. We got fitted for clothes ands the sites.
IMG_0756

Mary eats Banh Mi
Mary eats Banh Mi

 

http://www.priceoftravel.com/201/the-best-vietnamese-banh-mi-sandwich-in-the-world/

 

The next day my intensive physical therapy continued with Nurse Jackie aka Gena leading the charge.

Gena hauls in big net
Gena hauls in big net
Water Buffalo
Water Buffalo
Mary farming in VietNam
Mary farming in VietNam
Bike Crash
Bike Crash

We hopped on bikes and rode into a rice paddy, literally. Gena managed to stay on the 7 kilometer path, but I landed bottom down in rat infested mud. My booty appreciated the mud soak and subsequent hosing down by the worried guide. I really didn’t give a

Casting Fishing Net
Casting Fishing Net

rat’s ass and laughed as Gena described her discovering I was missing.

Now atop a motorbike, clinging to the driver much like the small pink snail I had invaded clinging to a rice stalk for safety. I was transported to a vegetable garden where a 72 -year old woman helped me work on my upper body watering her crop.

I opened my ample hips astride a water buffalo.  Gena pumped an 8 kilo fishing net on a upright bike apparatus on stilts and then we both cast out a fishnet for a full body stretch to conclude the physical therapy.

Da Lat 4-22-2016 2-49-16 PM Da Lat 4-22-2016 3-02-08 PM

Me at Crazy House
Me at Crazy House

On to the delightful French-founded resort of Dalat. Flowers, flowers, everywhere.  In fact they grow all flowers for Vietnam and are beginning to export to Europe. My therapy continued hiking through coffee plantations, silk worm farms and climbing down to elephant falls in Dalat, described as a treacherous, moss covered and often slippery path cut in lava. The author notes seeing several visitors go down on their backside. I did not. I remained erect signaling that the two week endeavor to rid the pain in my butt, had worked.

http://vietnamcoracle.com/elephant-waterfall/Da Lat 4-22-2016 11-02-49 AM

Night Market in Dalat
Night Market in Dalat
Some Are Pink, Some not
Some Are Pink, Some not
Approaching Thien Vien Troc Lam Monastery
Approaching Thien Vien Troc Lam Monastery

Da Lat 4-22-2016 2-20-36 PMDa Lat 4-22-2016 2-14-06 PM

https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g293922-d451021-Reviews-Thien_Vien_Truc_Lam-Da_Lat_Lam_Dong_Province.html

I also lost 7 lbs and had one of the most marvelous adventures of my life. Special thanks to Mi Duong and Gena Pratt who made everything much more special.

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. ️CN says:

    Marilyn you give new meaning and nerve to “life’s adventures”! Could not stop laughing.

  2. It was quite the time. Did you receive the invite to my 70th?

  3. Marcy says:

    Loved reading this…laughed to the end. What an adventure!

Leave a Reply

